Welcome to the Center for Subsurface Energy and the Environment

Mukul Sharma

Webinar with Mukul Sharma

Friday, December 4, 2020, 12pm - 1pm
Integrated Fracturing, Geomechanics and Reservoir Simulation: Using a Fit-for-Purpose Tool

Learn More

Industrial Affiliates Projects Spotlight

Digital Reservoir Characterization Technology (DIRECT)

Learn More
photo of Matt Balhoff

Researcher Profile

Professor Matthew Balhoff

Learn More

Research Highlights


Professor Mary Wheeler has been awarded the Billy & Claude R. Hocott Distinguished Centennial Engineering Research Award

This award recognizes faculty members who have made significant contributions in advancing the profession of engineering through documented research conducted while affiliated with The University of Texas at Austin. An important component of the award is that their work brought significant credit to the engineering profession and is determined exemplary by their peers.

Professor Mukul Sharma has received the SPE Honorary Membership at ATCE 2020.

This is the highest honor that SPE presents to an individual.

Professor Kamy Sepehrnoori has been honored by SPE with the Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty at ATCE 2020.

This honor recognizes superiority in classroom teaching, excellence in research, significant contributions to the petroleum engineering profession and/or special effectiveness in advising and guiding students.


Visualization Challenge

Deadline December 1, 2020

Learn more

Three Environmental Success Stories and What They Tell Us About Climate Change

Dr. Susan Solomon, Lee and Geraldine Martin Professor of Environmental Studies at MIT
December 2, 2020 5:00 - 6:00pm (CT)

Learn more